Tutorial: How to use an egg mold

Molded and shaped eggs are great to use in bento lunches for kids

If you have ever bought and egg mold though, you might have noticed the instructions are usually not in English. This is a problem if that’s the only language you speak. I had to google the subject to find out how. I wanted to create my own tutorial for my blog, since I plan on talking about bento a lot. I’ve included some links to other great resources for the egg molds though, ones that helped me figure it all out!

1) Boil the eggs. I read that you should boil the eggs anywhere from 5 to 30 minutes. I boiled them for about 10. Then you need to let them cool enough so you can peel them, but don’t let them cool too long. Use your judgement on that–be careful not to burn your fingers. Then you can gently crack the egg on the counter and peel it. I was really lucky with both of my eggs for this tutorial–I didn’t get any of the annoying chunks of egg missing when I peeled the egg.

Boiling the eggs for the egg mold

Boiling the eggs for the egg mold

2) Insert the eggs into the egg mold. I bought a rabbit and a bear–these seem to be pretty popular. I am using the rabbit mold for this tutorial. I laid the egg right into the mold.  (The picture helps illustrate this better.) Some tutorials suggested different methods for inserting the egg that might work best for the particular mold you are using. Several showed the egg sitting up in the mold, but these molds seemed to support laying the egg in just fine.

Picture of the egg mold

The egg mold

Egg in the egg mold

Place the egg in the egg mold

3). Close up the mold and snap the fastener tightly. Then float the mold (containing the egg) in cold water for at least 10 minutes. Some tutorials suggested you put the egg in the refrigerator as an alternative (I wasn’t sure if that was in water or out of water though).

Egg mold floating in cold water

Egg mold floating in cold water

4.) When you feel enough time has passed, remove the egg from the mold. I saw some folks leaving the egg in the mold till you are ready to use the egg, but I removed right after it was done soaking. This worked fine for the egg I used right away. I would suggest leaving the egg in longer to keep it shaped properly, for best results. One of the eggs I made after the tutorial lost some of its features by the next day–so I don’t think it was in there long enough.

Your molded egg

Here's how it will look when you unclasp the mold.

5.) You can leave the egg whole or slice it. I sliced it right in the middle of the egg, where there was a seamline. This created two cute eggs!

An egg molded into the shape of a bunny

An egg molded into the shape of a bunny

Other tutorials to check out:
http://www.cookingcute.com/using_egg_molds.htm
http://justbento.com/handbook/bento-decoration-techniques/fun-japanese-egg-molds
http://everythingyourmamamade.com/2008/07/23/bento-egg-molds/

Leave a Reply

